Things I Love Now That I Didn’t Love as a Kid (and vice versa)

THINGS I LOVE NOW THAT I DIDN’T LOVE AS A CHILD:

1. Kale

2. New Yorker articles

3. Distant relatives

4. Lingering at the table with friends, long after you’ve finished eating

5. Coffee

6. Fish

7. Crying for sentimental reasons

8. Going to bed

9. Trying new foods

10. Having people think I’m younger than I am

THINGS I LOVED AS A CHILD AND DON’T LOVE NOW

1. Saturday morning cartoons

2. Pixie sticks

3. Archie comics

4. Swimming in a pool

5. Monopoly

6. Puns

7.  Pouring candy on top of ice cream

8.  Picking lint out of my belly-button

9.  Running around in a bathing-suit all day

10. Having people think I’m older than I am

THINGS I HAVE ALWAYS AND WILL ALWAYS LOVE

1. Rainy days

2. Reading books

3. My family

4. Traveling

5.  Playing parlor games

6. Writing stories

7.  Being barefoot

8.  Having a day with no plans and nothing I have to do

9.  Clean sheets

10. Brownies

Have anything to add to any of these lists?  Tell me in the comments.  Also, please come and join me at the Santa Monica Barnes and Noble at seven pm this Thursday night, when Claire Bidwell Smith, Rebecca Rasmussen, Kristen Weber and I will be reading from Wedding Cake for Breakfast: Essays on the Unforgettable First Year of Marriage Feel free to bring or buy copies of my other books as well, and then you can enjoy that magical moment when I realize I’m supposed to sign books and have forgotten–as always–to bring a pen, and start frantically pawing through my mess of a purse with a desperate “There’s got to be one in here somewhere.”  It never gets old.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Things I Love Now That I Didn’t Love as a Kid (and vice versa)

  1. I didn’t like tomatoes as a kid, but Granny said I would when I was older. I rolled my eyes at her and asserted (did I stamp my foot?) that I would NEVER like tomatoes. Granny was wise. I don’t just like tomatoes, I love them.

  2. Katherine

    Sushi. I wouldn’t go near it as a kid but love it now. Same with tomatoes.

  3. Claire

    Oh, yes, I should have included tomatoes!

  4. what a great list. I agree with Katherine and sushi, and would add: spinach, asparagus, and steak. I also really enjoy shopping now, and I hated it as a kid.

Leave a Reply

