Happy New Year!

I know, I know, I haven’t been writing on this blog at all lately.  I have been having a fine old time over at my Facebook page, so if you haven’t checked that out yet, come visit.  I’m currently doing a book giveaway contest over there–the winner gets a bound galley of my young adult novel EPIC FAIL, which comes out from HarperTeen this summer.  The really exciting news it that my next 5 Spot novel–FAMILIES AND OTHER NONRETURNABLE GIFTS–is on track to be published in September.  Which will make it a busy late summer for me.

And that, more than anything else, is why I haven’t been writing so much for this blog (and, sadly, not at all for my other blog, bookstorepeople.com–but my partner Kim has been maintaining that beautifully without me so go ahead and check it otu): I’ve been kind of busy writing books.  Which is something I love to do.

Someone (actually Kim, whom I just mentioned) asked me recently whether I write to be creative or to be successful.  I had to think about the answer for some time.  Do I get pleasure out of the act of writing and seeing a book come together in front of me?  Absolutely.  Would I still want to do that if I knew that what I was writing would never be read by other people?  Hmmm.  Not so much.   I don’t want to be the tree falling in the forest with no one hearing it.  I want to be heard.

I do know that I can enjoy writing without being wildly successful because I’m not wildly successful and I’m still writing away.  So my ultimate answer to Kim was, “I want to be successful enough to keep getting book deals.  And I want to find the peace within myself to be satisfied with that.”  The first is somewhat out of my control (but, you know, if you guys buy lots of copies, it could be within your control. I’m just saying).  The second is within my control.  I’m not known in my household for being particularly skilled at finding my inner peace, but I’m going to work hard to get better at it.  Any tips would be appreciated . . .

So I’ll keep writing.  I hope you’ll keep reading.  And that my editors keep buying.

And meanwhile, maybe someone can explain to me why my blog started to have way MORE visitors when I stopped posting on it.

Maybe silence really does speak louder than words.

5 Comments

Filed under book giveaway, contest, writing

5 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Claudia Reilly

    I love the title of your new novel! And I liked what you wrote about writing, about how a writer needs to believe his or her work will be read by people. Sometimes I will hear a writer insist this doesn’t matter to the writer and the second I hear someone say that, I think the author is not telling the heart’s truth. Brava to you! And how happy I am to think FAMILIES AND OTHER NONRETURNABLE GIFTS will be on my book shelf and in my hands and heart one day!

  2. annie

    Oh I cannot wait for the new book. You’ve definitely gotten my attention with that title.
    I also loved what you said about your writing. I think finding peace, being able to say, “it’s okay,” in whatever we are doing, is the key to contentment. We have to stop being so hard on ourselves.

  3. I love the name of your novel too!! And there is nothing wrong with wanting to be heard. If loving that is wrong, I don’t wannnnna be rigggghttt….

  4. Claire

    Hee-hee, Lorrie. Thanks. I just saw an early draft of the cover and it’s going to be good . . . happy sigh.

Leave a Reply

